Nov. 7th – C-75: 3rd Reading Tomorrow (Tough on Terror, Light on Other Crimes) & Parliamentary Apology to Jewish Community

November 7th, 2018

BREAKING NEWS //

Apology

Just In: “Prime Minister Justin Trudeau issues a formal apology in the House of Commons on behalf of the federal government for the decision to turn away a ship carrying German Jewish passengers in 1939. The MS St. Louis was carrying almost 1,000 passengers, including 907 Jewish German citizens who were fleeing Nazi persecution. The boat was denied entry into Cuba and the United States before approaching Canada. The Jewish refugees were denied asylum due to Canada’s discriminatory “none is too many” immigration policy of the time, and the boat was forced to return to Europe. While some of the passengers eventually found sanctuary, 254 died in concentration camps. Five surviving passengers are expected to be in the chamber during Trudeau’s apology.” – CAPC

Click here to watch now.

***

Bill C-75: GOING SOFTER ON CRIME

NOV. 20TH UPDATE – C-75 is expected to go to final vote in the House of Commons on Thursday Nov. 22th.  Please e-mail your MP immediately and ask them to vote against this bill.  Click here to find your MP by postal code.

Updated information

Committee meetings heard from multiple witnesses and the committee unanimously voted not to include terrorism charges in with the summary offences. They felt it would send the wrong message to Canadians to go soft on this crime.

When committee wraps up Bill C-75 will go back to the House of Commons for third reading before being voted on and passed to the Senate.

So far the terrorism charges are the only ones being amended. This means that other areas such as kidnapping of a minor under 14, infanticide, concealing the body of a child, making money from the trafficking of a person are still included as summary offenses (meaning they have lighter penalties attached to them). Many Canadians still have concerns about C-75 because of this.

C-75 is expected back to the floor of the House of Commons for vote shortly. It’s 3rd reading will be on November 8th.

ACTION POINTS

Contact the sponsor of Bill C-75The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, to let her know how you feel.

You can write the committee members to thank them for the amendments regarding terrorism, and communicate your thoughts on other offences you would like to see amended.

The committee reviewing this bill:
The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights
Members:
Chair: Anthony Housefather
Vice chair: Hon. Tony Clement
Vice chair: Murray Rankin

Randy Boissonnault
Michael Cooper
Ali Ehsassi
Collin Fraser
Iqra Khalid
Dave MacKenzie
Ron McKinnon
Arif Virani (paliamentary secretary non-voting)

***
Screen Shot 2018-11-07 at 7.34.13 PM
***

Click here or on the viewers below to interviews with our director, Faytene Grasseschi, and the Hon. Rob Nicholson with concerns about Bill C-75.

RobNicholson
Slide Rob Nicholson

Summarization of issues with Bill C-75 //

In Canada there are summary conviction offences, and indictable offenses.

Summary conviction offences are considered less serious than indictable offences so they could be punished with as little as a fine and a maximum of 2 years less a day in prison.

The proposed legislation, Bill C-75, looks to include a long list of very serious crimes into the definition of “summary offence.

Section 786 of the Code has a statute that prohibits persons from being tried for a summary conviction offence more than 6 months after the offence was committed unless both the prosecutor and defendant agree otherwise.

C-75 would also prohibit a judge from banning a convicted person from public areas where children are likely to be, such as schools and parks.

Listed are 131 of the crimes that will be included in this legislation:

// Bold are particularly serious offences //

Title of offence as found in Bill C-75:
1. Sabotage
2. Possession of forged, etc., passport
3. Fraudulent use of certificate of citizenship
4. Offences in relation to military forces
5. Punishment of rioter
6. Concealment of identity
7. Neglect by peace officer
8. Unlawful drilling
9. Orders by Governor in Council
10. Possession of explosive (note: change in title of offence)
11. Providing or collecting property for certain activities
12. Providing, making available, etc. property or services for terrorist purposes
13. Using or possessing property for terrorist purposes
14. Participation in activity of a terrorist group
15. Leaving Canada to participate in activity of terrorist group
16. Advocating or promoting commission of terrorism offences
17. Concealing person who carried out terrorist activity
18. Concealing a person who is likely to carry out terrorist activity
19. Frauds on the government
20. Breach of trust by public officer
21. Municipal corruption
22. Influencing municipal official
23. Selling or purchasing office
24. Influencing or negotiating appointments or dealing in offices
25. Disobeying a statute
26. Offences relating to affidavits
27. Obstructing justice
28. Compounding indictable offences
29. Corruptly taking reward for recovery of goods
30. Prison breach
31. Permitting or assisting escape
32. Rescue or permitting escape
33. Assisting prisoner of war to escape
34. Corrupting children
35. Obstructing or violence to or arrest of officiating clergyman
36. Common nuisance
37. Dead body
38. Interception
39. Interception of radio-based telephone communications
40. Possession, etc.
41. Disclosure of information
42. Disclosure of information received from interception of radio-based telephone communications
43. Keeping a gaming or betting house
44. Offence in relation to lotteries and games of chance
45. Cheating at play
46. Keeping a common bawdy-house
47. Causing bodily harm by negligence
48. Punishment for infanticide
49. Neglect to obtain assistance in childbirth
50. Concealing the body of a child
51. Administering noxious thing
52. Traps likely to cause bodily harm
53. Bodily harm
54. Offence-related place
55. Dangerous operation causing bodily harm
56. Unseaworthy vessel and unsafe aircraft
57. Offence involving bodily harm
58. Impaired driving causing bodily harm
59. Blood alcohol over legal limit – bodily harm
60. Failure or refusal to provide sample – bodily harm
61. Impeding attempt to save life
62. Material benefit – trafficking
63. Withholding or destroying documents – trafficking
64. Abduction of person under the age of 16
65. Abduction of person under the age of 14
66. Material benefit from sexual services
67. Bigamy
68. Procuring feigned marriage
69. Polygamy
70. Forced marriage
71. Marriage under age of 16 years
72. Pretending to solemnize marriage
73. Marriage contrary to law
74. Punishment of libel known to be false
75. Punishment for defamatory libel
76. Extortion by libel
77. Advocating genocide
78. Punishment for theft
79. Fraudulently taking cattle or defacing brand
80. Punishment for theft of cattle
81. Taking possession, etc., of drift timber
82. Destroying documents of title
83. Fraudulent concealment
84. Disguise with intent
85. Possession of instruments for breaking into coin-operated or currency exchange devices
86. Selling, etc., automobile master key
87. Possession of property obtained by crime
88. Bringing into Canada property obtained by crime
89. False pretence or false statement
90. Obtaining execution of valuable security by fraud
91. Damaging documents
92. Offences in relation to registers
93. Using mails to defraud
94. Fraudulent manipulation of stock exchange transactions
95. Prohibited insider trading
96. Gaming in stocks or merchandise
97. Broker reducing stock by selling for their own account
98. Fraudulent concealment of title documents
99. Fraudulent registration of a title
100. Fraudulent sale of real property
101. Misleading receipt
102. Fraudulent disposal of goods on which money advanced
103. Fraudulent receipts under the Bank Act
104. Disposal of property to defraud creditors
105. Fraud in relation to fares, etc.
106. Fraud in relation to valuable minerals
107. Possession of stolen or fraudulently obtained valuable minerals
108. Offences in relation to mines
109. Books and documents
110. Privy
111. False return by public officer
112. False prospectus, etc.
113. Acknowledging instrument in false name
114. Applying or removing marks without authority
115. Threat against internationally protected person
116. Thread against United Nations or associated personnel
117. Secret commissions
118. Arson for fraudulent purpose
119. Arson by negligence
120. Possession of incendiary material
121. Interfering with saving of wrecked vessel
122. Interfering with marine signal, etc.
123. Removing natural bar without permission
124. Occupant injuring building
125. Interfering with international boundary marks, etc.
126. Having clippings, etc.
127. Uttering coin
128. Advertising and dealing in counterfeit money
129. Conspiracy
130. Participation in activities of a criminal organization
131. Breach of long-term supervision


Continue to PRAY

Pray for our leaders that they will have the wisdom to see the long term effects of decisions that are made today. Pray also that they will have understanding and the fear of the Lord in their hearts. Pray that it will not pass without proper debate.

***
FayteneSignaturelogoWhiteonBlack

We encourage you to check out our director, Faytene Grasseschi’s, weekly show which is attacking key issues for our nation head on.

Visit faytene.tv for information on upcoming shows or to watch those which have already aired.

Shows have covered topics such as marijuana legislation, doctor conscience rights, first nations suicide, poverty, human trafficking, abortion harassment, sex education and more.


AIRING TIMES

SUNDAY MORNINGS ON VISION //

6:30am PST / 7:30am MST / 8:30am CST/ 9:30am EST / 10:30am AST

Click here to find channel # in your area.

SATURDAY AFTERNOONS ON DAYSTAR CANADA //

10:30am PST / 11:30am MST / 12:30pm CST/ 1:30pm EST / 2:30pm AST

SUNDAY NIGHTS ON DAYSTAR CANADA // 8:30 pm EST

5:30pm PST / 6:30pm MST / 7:30pm CST/ 8:30pm EST / 9:30pm AST

(Live stream available here.)

Click here to find channel # in your area.

SUNDAY NIGHTS ON YES TV CALGARY & EDMONTON // 9:00 pm MST

Click here to find the channel # in your area.

SUNDAY NIGHTS ON YES TV // 9:30 pm EST

Click here to find the channel # in your area.


Visit www.faytene.tv for even more informative programs on issues that are shaping the future of our nation.

NoNotThisOneSlider
NNTOVid
JusticeWallNewSiteBanner2webnew
JusticeWallVid
***
MYCyoutube
MYCFacebook
MYCTwitter
MYCInstagram
BlastUpdatesNew
BlastPetitions
BlastProLifeVids
BlastResource